How do I git gud with Reptile in MKX?
posted12/03/2015 03:13 PM (UTC)by
[Killswitch]
About Me

Shao Kahn did nothing wrong

Title says it all. I'm trying to pick up reptile to use as a secondary, but I just can't cook up anything decent with him in practice. Any pro reptile players have any tips or basics for me they'd like to share?
unleash_your_tounge
About Me

"Life, for all it's anguish, is ours Miss Ives. It belongs to no other." - Ferdinand Lyle

07/08/2015 06:13 PM (UTC)
Reptile is a high risk, high reward character if I ever saw one. He has some safe strings, but most (if not, all) of his specials are punishable on block. I'm no expert with him yet, but I'm actually coming around and have been majorly improving so I'll help as best as I can.

1, 2 and 3, 4 can be your saving grace, because both of those will allow you to open up the opponent and string in with his fast force ball. I'd suggest FK, BK, force ball if you're looking for more damage. Once you get the hang of timing, you can quickly follow that fast force ball with a slow one to keep the juggle going into a neutral jump punch.

When I started, I left out the slow force ball just to get the feel for his juggle timing first. Still use a neutral jump punch though. After that, his buffed Scaly Serpent (-> 3,
Slime Trail (-> 4, 1, 2) is also a decent ender, followed by his Slide. 2,1,2,4 is also good if you're adept at using the run feature to catch up with the opponent after you send them flying.

This is just about the best I can come up with without using any meter (ranging from 23%-29%, I can update later with the exacts), but even still, that's when all the fun and high damage comes into play. But ATM I must run, so I'll be back later to update this for ya.

One last thing - enhanced Swamp Slam (-> 2, 1, 1+2) will also be your best friend. Feel free to try ending the aforementioned combos with it for more damage/juggle potential. Good luck! tongue
[Killswitch]
About Me

07/08/2015 06:50 PM (UTC)