My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
  • Page:
  • 1
User Icon
  • CanadaCanada
Rank
Posts1052
Likes0 received
0 given
My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 01:36 AM EDT
FREEZE

Hi I am back with my another opinion thread, this time of Sub-Zero

Sub-Zero is literally one of baddest characters in game, arguably the mascot of mortal Kombat franchise and one of the most famous characters of the game.

Sub-zero in this game has gotten faster and more fluid motion in his moves, in the previous incarnations he was far more clunky and slow. He also had a limited moveset meaning in some scenarios you got stuck, unless you were a very good player.

Freeze Ball



One of the most used moves you will see from most Sub-zero players online. Its literally Sub-zero throwing ball of Ice onto you which will freeze you no matter what position your in. Its highly blockable but unless your opponent is close buy, a chance of major retaliation is not very high. Overall his ice ball moves the faster then it did before but then again it has its drawbacks. it can be used pretty fast aswell. you can turn this into a throw or another combo.

note: using any of his moves twice in a row will cause them to cancel out, meaning if you freeze somebody with a feeze ball. You can unfreeze them again by using the freeze ball again.

note: don't try x-rays on a frozen enemy, you will just go through them and waste your bar.


Ice puddle



Another a famous move from Sub-Zero, its pretty much when Sub-zero freezes the ground underneath opponent so he can't move. The only drawback is it takes a while to do, so your opponent can attack you before you finish your attack.

Slide

a pretty self explanatory move, its when subzero attacks you by sliding on the ground, it can be blocked by blocking low but he looks cool doing it, for the moves i can't find pictures for i will post a video of his gameplay later on

Ice Clone

this is counter move, meaning he forms a clone of himself out of ice, which if the opponent touches will be turn into ice. A very useful move to get out of a pressuring enemy, if timed correctly.

Icy Counter

Sub-zero surrounds himself in ice and if he an opponent touches him, they will be frozen while sub-zero reappears behind them. need move if you have the full bar.

Note: I think this takes the whole x-ray bar to pull of, I did it a couple of time and it drained my x-ray bar completely.

Icicle attack

pretty much Sub's attacks with an icicle like thing, its slow but does some damage if you get hit. You really put into a combo if you want to make sure it will hit you opponent.

X-ray move

Sub's grab's the opponents liver before crushing it, then applying a brutal headbut. Pretty cool attack but useless on a frozen enemy,

HERE!

Fatality

Sub's has two fatalities known so far

Have a ice day: Sub's freezes the opponent till the torso, then rips the torso off

Here!

Spinal Smash: Sub's rips the spine off, then freezes the body and crushes it with the spinal. Looks brutal, beating somebody up with their own spine.

Sub's fatalities don't look to tough to pull off but looks to be brutally fun.

History

Spoilers: (Highlight to reveal)
Here!


Gameplay
here's the gameplay video like said

Here!

Conclusion

I am very pleased with Sub-Zero's gameplay, the blue ninja is back better then ever

Thank you for reading this
Thsnks to Jaded-Raven for again let me use his format



This fight will be your last





Dragon PointDragon PointDragon PointDragon PointDragon PointHalf a Dragon Point2.0
User Icon
Rank
Posts2403
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 04:08 AM EDT
Neat thread.

But not for here.

Someone move these threads back to the 2011 forum before this whole board becomes bogged down with arbitrary "gameplay" topics fishing for dragon points.
User Icon
Rank
Posts451
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 04:22 AM EDT
I think you're confusing his Icy Counter with his X-ray. Sub-zero no longer has has "Icy Counter", and his X-ray won't freeze you if you hit him while he's charging it. Also, you can use your X-ray on a frozen opponent if you delay it.

Wanderer Wrote:
Neat thread.

But not for here.

Someone move these threads back to the 2011 forum before this whole board becomes bogged down with arbitrary "gameplay" topics fishing for dragon points.


^This, I was in the middle of making a post questioning the reason of these threads being here, but it was becoming long and I was having trouble saying it in a way that didn't make me sound like I was trying to be a dick. So I think I'll just leave it as a "This".
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 06:35 AM EDT
Wanderer Wrote:
Neat thread.

But not for here.

Someone move these threads back to the 2011 forum before this whole board becomes bogged down with arbitrary "gameplay" topics fishing for dragon points.


The mods say these threads belong in this forum. So they will stay here.

Anyways, nice Sub-Zero thread. ^^
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts7552
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 03:34 PM EDT
Wanderer Wrote:
Neat thread.

But not for here.

Someone move these threads back to the 2011 forum before this whole board becomes bogged down with arbitrary "gameplay" topics fishing for dragon points.

How so? Is this not the section for gameplay topics?
New sig on the way
User Icon
Rank
Posts2403
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 06:53 PM EDT
TemperaryUserName Wrote:
How so? Is this not the section for gameplay topics?


Sure it is.

But this isn't really a gameplay thread. It's character fanwank thread with a special move list. It doesn't delve into gameplay topics for characters such as matchup strategies and combo strings. Hell, not even command inputs. This thread in particular is especially disappointing because this sort of stuff is already available for Sub-Zero with the demo release yet it doesn't go over anything of substance.
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/02/2011 08:21 PM EDT
Wanderer Wrote:
TemperaryUserName Wrote:
How so? Is this not the section for gameplay topics?


Sure it is.

But this isn't really a gameplay thread. It's character fanwank thread with a special move list. It doesn't delve into gameplay topics for characters such as matchup strategies and combo strings. Hell, not even command inputs. This thread in particular is especially disappointing because this sort of stuff is already available for Sub-Zero with the demo release yet it doesn't go over anything of substance.


I've chatted with a few mods about it when my Jade thread was moved to here from the MK(2011) forum, and they all told me that it belonged to here.

So your argument is invalid.
User Icon
  • Holy See (Vatican City State)Holy See (Vatican City State)
Rank
Posts11981
Likes2 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/04/2011 02:31 PM EDT
This thread is fine here. Just because the topic creator didn't go super in depth on Subby doesn't mean you can't.

Sub-Zero is a defensive character that relies on his Ice Clone a lot. Zoning is what this guy is all about.

Sub is now able to shoot his Ice Ball with an Ice Clone out, and the Ice Clone itself lasts a ridiculously long time. So you could plop a clone in the middle of the stage and start chucking out safe Ice Balls at your opponent. When when the Ice Clone disappears you can create a new one almost instantly.

Seriously, the Ice Clone is insanely good. You simply cannot get to Sub-Zero safely with one of those out on the ground. It won't happen.

Sub doesn't have the most damaging combos (my BnBs range between 25-40%) and he is pretty slow and clunky. Sub doesn't have a standard pop up move. You'll mostly be using his BP, FP, BP, Freeze combo. This works as a pseudo pop up as after the last hit your opponent will fly away allowing you to launch an Ice Ball if you're quick enough.

I prefer this over some of the other pop ups. Because basically you're going to pop up your opponent if you hit with that first BP. Sub's BP comes out pretty quick and is really safe so even if its blocked you won't get torched by your opponent. Other characters have slow and unsafe pop ups. Yeah they work better when they land but if they miss you're fucked.

Sub's Slide doesn't really work as a combo ender in this game. Its mostly a way to get in quick. His Ground Freeze is completely worthless imo. Even the EX Version can be seen coming a mile away. His EX Freeze is a beam. Its pretty useful since you're opponent will likely try to jump over a regular Ice Ball and won't see the beam coming. His EX Slide does more damage and is pretty fun to use with the Ice Clone. If you have an Ice Clone set up on the other side of the screen and get the EX Slide in then you'll knock the opponent into the Clone! How awesome is that! Not the most practical maneuver but it sure looks cool.

So in short, Sub is a defensive, zoning juggernaut. He's pretty tough to get used to but when you do, expect to dominate. His Ice Clone is the best move in the game right now and his pseudo pop up is awesome. His combos don't deal the most damage, but you'll be getting a lot of hits in with this guy's freeze attacks. You can easily combo into his X-Ray (which is basically his Cold Shoulder attack from MKDA-MKA) and it deals decent damage. I'd save the bar up for the X-Ray since most of Sub's EX moves aren't that great.
User Icon
  • Puerto RicoPuerto Rico
Rank
Posts264
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/04/2011 02:39 PM EDT
Subby is my fav character out of the demo i love how he plays.

few things though I can use my X-ray on frozen people if you cant seem to connect with it is because your doing it too close and he slides right through.

and Im not sure but I think they took away his ice parry :( I do know what happened to it but you know Spoilers.

My success with him comes from just playing defense with the ice clone, I like how you can make your combos safe on block by cancelling into it.
User Icon
  • CanadaCanada
Rank
Posts1052
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My Opinion Sub-zeros Gameplay
04/05/2011 11:25 AM EDT
the Ice Clone, is great defense mechanism, it prevents your opponent from rushing at you.

  • Page:
  • 1
Fatal Friday
05/14/2021 08:00 PM EDT
Sunday School
05/16/2021 08:00 PM EDT
User Poll
Round 1: FIGHT!
52.9%
Great Kung Lao
47.1%
Shang Tsung