Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/19/2012 06:31 PM EDT
I got inspired to make this thread from responding a post about Injustice in the Drive-By thread in the General Chat section.

Injustice is still very young and we haven't seen all that much about it as of yet, however, I would like to know what you guys think about the game so far. What do you particularly like of what we have seen and is there some parts you dislike, and why do you like/dislike these things?

My opinion:

I was a bit on the fence about Injustice, mainly because I'm not much of a DCU fan other than the Batman series. The inclusion of Nightwing got me interested though, and should Catwoman become playable as well, I would consider buying it. I enjoyed MKvsDCU and I like playing DCU Online, not to mentioned Batman: Arkham City had me astounded, so I am loosening up to the DC Universe slowly.

I still find Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Red Arrow and many of the other DCU characters to be too cheesy looking and those names are so hard to take serious. I guess the reaosn I like Batman is because it is a much darker setting and the characters and villains aren't superhumans (though a few of them are, such as Poison Ivy, Croc and Grundy).

I do like the more modern interpretation of the costumes in Injustice though, however I think NRS could have gone alot further. At least I am glad Batman got rid of the red panties and Wonder Woman finally put on some pants. Harley Quinn looks a bit too clowny compared to her Batman: Arkham City appearance, but it works for her at least.

As said, Nightwing is my favourite so far. Just waiting for Catwoman. If she won't be in it, I will be disappointed.
User Icon
Rank
Posts109
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/19/2012 07:43 PM EDT
honestly i think I'm loving just about everything this game has offered so far.... except maybe the whole stage interactions, i mean i love them now but i feel like eventually it's gonna get irritating/repetitive after a while of being blasted to another part of the stage lol but for now i like the whole concept it's pretty much what would happen in fights between super heroes and villains....

the only real thing i'm hoping for is poison ivy being playable other than that everything else could kick rocks lol she should at least be dlc since she might not be in the original roster seeing as how we may be getting a few too many bat characters.... oh and starfire or raven.... one of the two lol But i'm rooting for Ivy 100%

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts5500
Likes10 received
1 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/20/2012 12:41 AM EDT
From what I've seen it looks promising. DC for the most part, tends to have really terrible games. However this looks good so far. I'm digging the interactive environments and the stages in general and so far the roster looks good even though it's very early days in that regard and with what we've been shown.

I do not like the looks of these characters however. I suppose I can get past the New 52 inspired designs but I really hate the 90s Power Ranger armor a lot of the heroes seem to be wearing.
Even though you call them cheesy, and I don't necessarily disagree they're also iconic and instantly recognizable. Really I just like them lol. I grew up with them and I'm used to them looking a certain way.

Also so far I don't like the specials I've seen with the exception of Superman. His is the only one that looks really dynamic and damaging. It's really glaring because in all the videos so far they always show his and someone elses and he just trumps them every single time. His just seems grand and painful and the other less so. Much less so in fact.
-sig by MINION
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts553
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/20/2012 06:14 AM EDT
Jaded-Raven Wrote:
I got inspired to make this thread from responding a post about Injustice in the Drive-By thread in the General Chat section.

Injustice is still very young and we haven't seen all that much about it as of yet, however, I would like to know what you guys think about the game so far. What do you particularly like of what we have seen and is there some parts you dislike, and why do you like/dislike these things?

My opinion:

I was a bit on the fence about Injustice, mainly because I'm not much of a DCU fan other than the Batman series. The inclusion of Nightwing got me interested though, and should Catwoman become playable as well, I would consider buying it. I enjoyed MKvsDCU and I like playing DCU Online, not to mentioned Batman: Arkham City had me astounded, so I am loosening up to the DC Universe slowly.

I still find Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Red Arrow and many of the other DCU characters to be too cheesy looking and those names are so hard to take serious. I guess the reaosn I like Batman is because it is a much darker setting and the characters and villains aren't superhumans (though a few of them are, such as Poison Ivy, Croc and Grundy).

I do like the more modern interpretation of the costumes in Injustice though, however I think NRS could have gone alot further. At least I am glad Batman got rid of the red panties and Wonder Woman finally put on some pants. Harley Quinn looks a bit too clowny compared to her Batman: Arkham City appearance, but it works for her at least.

As said, Nightwing is my favourite so far. Just waiting for Catwoman. If she won't be in it, I will be disappointed.

Man, if you read the batman comic book series,the names being"hard to take seriously"wouldn't even cross your mind,i used to think like that a little bit,then i became a batman comic fan(and nightwing!). But anyway on to the topic at hand...


I am extremely excited about this game,i'm not very fond of MK vs DC,but i can say that my fears of NRS making this one slow and less fantastical(i think that's the word?) in it's presentation is long gone.I do have some worries about what the roster will be,but not as much as how will some characters play,will there be any overly exploitable characters(flash for instance) that will make the online portion unplayable for me as MK(9)'s online was.Also just to mention MK(9) has a horrible bunch of trolls in the chat rooms.Which makes me hope this game has a spam filter so i don't have to see this for the 50 thousandth time "Ya'll afraid to fight me,your all pussies,Ya'll afraid to fight me,your all pussiesYa'll afraid to fight me,your all pussiesYa'll afraid to fight me,your all pussies.I think you get the picture.I do think mk(9) had a great story mode,maybe this could be a chapter or two longer just so we get more heroes/ villains in,so that not as many fans of particular characters will feel they got shafted.I do wish they'd bring back a more "video ending" approach like in mk4.But seeing as how these are comic book characters,they'll probably get similar treatment as mk(9) which is fine with me.
Thanks to Minion for the Sig!
User Icon
Rank
Posts889
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/20/2012 10:24 AM EDT
There's not a lot that I dislike about this game so far at all, except a few things that will probably be changed anyways: So far I'm not too impressed with the interactions and praying that there are some way more unique ones; also I'd like to see some elemental characters and not a ton of brutes or Super this Super that type characters overload the game; more Bat-related Kharacters doesn't bother me since they are more popular/better selection/unique but I would like some diversity. Like with Aquaman, I'd like to see some water abilities added to the background interactions as well as his regular moveset, like a sewer manhole getting shot into the sky and fall on the opponent by force of a geyser. Same thing with Poison Ivy, I'd like to see her manipulate some background plants or even with the car scenario on the Fortress Of Solitude, I'd like to see a Jack n' Bean Stalk type vine grow from under the car knocking it onto the opponent; whereas Zatanna could simply cause the car to come to life and hit the opponent juggling them, go into reverse hit them again for another juggle, then shut off and remain on the stage allowing her a nice combo. I could see Mirror Master jump into the car's glaring paint job and practically be inside/become part of the car and see his arm come out and pull the opponent into the car for a few head bashes.

This is not a first time for background interactions even in a 2D game, this has been exploited years ago in X-Men Next Dimension, remember when Phoenix could telekinetically lift those boulders and objects to toss at her opponents, Beast and Nightcrawler could utilize polls/trees/lamp posts to swing kick people. That was actually a very nice game for it's time, even though it also was a bit late in the making. Also, Tao Feng Fist of The Lotus which was kinda ok/yet weird involved background interactions that seemed very generic and I don't want to see this game go that route; there needs to be some uniqueness or it's practically just a rehash.

Also to point out, having ONLY 1 super move is just like going back to MKDA, with only 1 Fatality; it WILL get old before long and lose it's flavor fast; I for one am SICK of seeing Superman's super move over and over and over, hell there's nothing unique about it anymore; the game isn't even out and it's half-way lost its flavor! NRS knows better than that, which I think will change within time.
User Icon
Rank
Posts182
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/20/2012 02:38 PM EDT
I'm not a big DC fan (except for batman), but I think this game looks great. It looks like a lot of fun and you can tell that NRS put a lot of effort into making every character play uniquely. I really like they are trying to innovate in a genre that is in desperate need of innovation.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts3381
Likes4 received
2 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/20/2012 06:03 PM EDT
I love it all already, my only beef is the lack of Bane being revealed.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts3521
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/21/2012 11:39 AM EDT
I absolutely love everything about this game so far, especially the removal or non inclusion of a block button and pressing back for block. MK and SF are my main fighting games, and as much as I love Marvel, I can't stand MvC series with all its flashy crap. I'm also a huge DC fan and Injustice is more on a serious tone which I love so ya this will be one of my favorite series in fighters to come.

I just find it awkward that when a match starts there's no "Fight" announcer, the match just kinda starts.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts9149
Likes444 received
175 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/22/2012 12:56 AM EDT
I am having quite a hard time getting into this game.

As I watch the gameplay, I keep noticing conspicuous aspects of other fighting games, particularly:

Super Smash Bros. Melee (multi-damaging environment)
Def Jam Icon (multi-interactive environment)
Mortal Kombat (2011) (segmented meter system)
Marvel vs Capcom 3 (cutscene super moves)

I do happen to really like Harley Quinn's appearance and gameplay. I also like the fact that Superman levitates instead of walks. It's always a joy to see a variety in how characters get around.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts13
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/22/2012 03:56 AM EDT
I could do with a little less of the Bat-posse.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts553
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/22/2012 05:33 AM EDT
Riddler Wrote:
I could do with a little less of the Bat-posse.

Your username is riddler and you have harley quinn's revenge as your sig.I'm having trouble believing your statement sir. confused
Thanks to Minion for the Sig!
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts6560
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/22/2012 09:31 AM EDT
Likes: Everything

Dislikes: None

My only concern is wagering super meter for Clashes. But other than that, this game looks amazing. I'm really proud of NRS for making this game very different from MK.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts553
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/24/2012 01:55 PM EDT
KungLaodoesntsuck Wrote:
Likes: Everything

Dislikes: None

My only concern is wagering super meter for Clashes. But other than that, this game looks amazing. I'm really proud of NRS for making this game very different from MK.


Although they can look ridiculous sometimes,like seeing Harley charge superman,they do have a pretty cool outcome,wouldn't you say?
Thanks to Minion for the Sig!
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts4739
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/24/2012 09:52 PM EDT
ShaolinChuan Wrote:

I just find it awkward that when a match starts there's no "Fight" announcer, the match just kinda starts.


I remember Hec saying they haven't decided how they'll implement that yet.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts6560
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/24/2012 10:44 PM EDT
b-don Wrote:
KungLaodoesntsuck Wrote:
Likes: Everything

Dislikes: None

My only concern is wagering super meter for Clashes. But other than that, this game looks amazing. I'm really proud of NRS for making this game very different from MK.


Although they can look ridiculous sometimes,like seeing Harley charge superman,they do have a pretty cool outcome,wouldn't you say?


I think it looks great. And the fact that everyone says different things to different people is great.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts553
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/25/2012 02:54 AM EDT
KungLaodoesntsuck Wrote:
b-don Wrote:
KungLaodoesntsuck Wrote:
Likes: Everything

Dislikes: None

My only concern is wagering super meter for Clashes. But other than that, this game looks amazing. I'm really proud of NRS for making this game very different from MK.


Although they can look ridiculous sometimes,like seeing Harley charge superman,they do have a pretty cool outcome,wouldn't you say?


I think it looks great. And the fact that everyone says different things to different people is great.


Can't wait to see Nightwing Charge bats. And an (surely to be) Iconic Batman charging Superman.
Thanks to Minion for the Sig!
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1337
Likes159 received
15 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/25/2012 08:52 AM EDT
It is basically a fresh effort, not just for the fighting genre but for the studio too. I am loving the graphics, they obviously look more detailed than Mk9 and the color renders are just very well toned and gives the game a realistic dark feel that's better done than MK9's ImO. Loving the Environmental elements , but they need to tone it down a little.

I didn't like the new round system, don't know whether that is because it is new to me or it will just end up being stupid.The colliding move (where each player spends some of the special move bar ), it feels stupid and very unnecessary.


I hope that they don't follow the chapter based story mode and just go for what we have been asking, a story mode that ain't confiened to 1/3 of the cast with 1/3 of the fights poorly layed out (Jax-Cage / Jax-Jade ).


Oh and again the marketing machine sucks in this game.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts9149
Likes444 received
175 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/25/2012 10:18 AM EDT
I'll be honest, the game has grown on me a bit since my last post.

I'm still bothered by how conspicuous the interaction in the environment is, like the cars that just so happen to be there in plain sight where the characters are fighting.

I'd much rather prefer if all interactive objects blended in with the background, instead of poking out at us like, "Hey! HEY! Touch me!"

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts553
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/27/2012 12:55 AM EDT
Riyakou Wrote:
I'll be honest, the game has grown on me a bit since my last post.

I'm still bothered by how conspicuous the interaction in the environment is, like the cars that just so happen to be there in plain sight where the characters are fighting.

I'd much rather prefer if all interactive objects blended in with the background, instead of poking out at us like, "Hey! HEY! Touch me!"


I don't know,it seems like that's the right way to go to me.My reasoning is that some people aren't exactly very perceptive.Not to say they're dumb(NOT Saying That) there are just some people that need a bit more of a straight forward approach.So putting the enviroment interactions right there will help more people know what's the interaction.More so than the(i'm only assuming here) Subtle approach you seem to want.
Thanks to Minion for the Sig!
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts100
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/27/2012 09:21 AM EDT
I've only recently become aware of this game, and so far it looks amazing and has me really excited. So far I am still confused as to what the wager system will actually DO to affect combat, but other than that it looks like it will be a thrilling experience.

Watching combatants use the background in different ways is really intriguing.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts9149
Likes444 received
175 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/27/2012 09:29 AM EDT
b-don Wrote:
Riyakou Wrote:
I'll be honest, the game has grown on me a bit since my last post.

I'm still bothered by how conspicuous the interaction in the environment is, like the cars that just so happen to be there in plain sight where the characters are fighting.

I'd much rather prefer if all interactive objects blended in with the background, instead of poking out at us like, "Hey! HEY! Touch me!"


I don't know,it seems like that's the right way to go to me.My reasoning is that some people aren't exactly very perceptive.Not to say they're dumb(NOT Saying That) there are just some people that need a bit more of a straight forward approach.So putting the enviroment interactions right there will help more people know what's the interaction.More so than the(i'm only assuming here) Subtle approach you seem to want.


But the lack of good perception is what will make it more fun, to me at least.

You know something's out there, but you gotta figure it out for yourself. That makes using the object much more rewarding, rather than just being another cheapshot.

Don't get me wrong, I love interactive environments, but all the conspicuous bulk surrounding me and my opponent just makes harder to fight.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts100
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/27/2012 09:32 AM EDT
Riyakou Wrote:
b-don Wrote:
Riyakou Wrote:
I'll be honest, the game has grown on me a bit since my last post.

I'm still bothered by how conspicuous the interaction in the environment is, like the cars that just so happen to be there in plain sight where the characters are fighting.

I'd much rather prefer if all interactive objects blended in with the background, instead of poking out at us like, "Hey! HEY! Touch me!"


I don't know,it seems like that's the right way to go to me.My reasoning is that some people aren't exactly very perceptive.Not to say they're dumb(NOT Saying That) there are just some people that need a bit more of a straight forward approach.So putting the enviroment interactions right there will help more people know what's the interaction.More so than the(i'm only assuming here) Subtle approach you seem to want.


But the lack of good perception is what will make it more fun, to me at least.

You know something's out there, but you gotta figure it out for yourself. That makes using the object much more rewarding, rather than just being another cheapshot.

Don't get me wrong, I love interactive environments, but all the conspicuous bulk surrounding me and my opponent just makes harder to fight.


To me it looks like we'll have a good mix of both. For example, watching one of the videos if Boon hadn't said that a character could hit a button on a monitor in the background to launch little missiles at the other character, I probably wouldn't have thought of it. So while it may not be super hidden, I think that for every very obvious tool, like a car or something suspended above the character's heads, we'll have something a little more subtle that will require some experimenting to find.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1375
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/28/2012 01:29 AM EDT
Likes
-DC universe

-Super combos

-Gimmick button that makes each character unique

-It's willingness not to be MK9

-Hit trades

-Stage interactions. Yes, I actually like that aspect. It adds another element of strategy, depth, and probability.

Dislikes

- Harley Quinn: Why is a character known for being physically weak in a fighting game?

-The Clash System- I like the concept, but it just seems a little confusing and the idea of wagering meter just doesn't intrigue me.


Overall, I'm really excited. I'm happy to see a straight super hero fighting game without this crossover bullshit. So far it makes other fighting games just look really vanilla, and a big part of it is the meter options and the stage interactions.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts553
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/28/2012 02:55 AM EDT
jbthrash Wrote:
Likes
-DC universe

-Super combos

-Gimmick button that makes each character unique

-It's willingness not to be MK9

-Hit trades

-Stage interactions. Yes, I actually like that aspect. It adds another element of strategy, depth, and probability.

Dislikes

- Harley Quinn: Why is a character known for being physically weak in a fighting game?

-The Clash System- I like the concept, but it just seems a little confusing and the idea of wagering meter just doesn't intrigue me.


Overall, I'm really excited. I'm happy to see a straight super hero fighting game without this crossover bullshit. So far it makes other fighting games just look really vanilla, and a big part of it is the meter options and the stage interactions.



Yeah the clash system seems strange,but i'm hopeful for it.As for harley quinn,if her inclusion means no mr j. well.....Yeah > furious

Even though they aren't physically superior characters,they do have some traits that could work well.Like using improvised/gag items as means of damaging opponents.
Thanks to Minion for the Sig!
User Icon
Rank
Posts889
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Your opinion of Injustice so far - Likes and dislikes
07/28/2012 09:50 AM EDT
Harley Quinn: Why is a character known for being physically weak in a fighting game?

Well they've stated that immortality deal is going to allow us to play as characters that we've ALWAYS wanted to play as that normally wouldn't work, and with that I hope to see both Poison Ivy and Zatanna!
Sunday School
06/20/2021 08:00 PM EDT
Fatal Friday
06/25/2021 08:00 PM EDT
Evo 2021 Online Warm-Up
07/08/2021 12:01 AM EDT
User Poll
Round 2: FIGHT!
53.3%
Frost
46.7%
Sub-Zero