Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
  • Page:
  • 1
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/26/2021 06:11 PM EDT
04/27/2021 04:25 PM EDT

I'm not going to review the film. Everything good and bad about it has been said and it's definitely getting mixed reactions, although mainly negative, on several forums despite the box office and HBOMax records are chart-topping. For now anyway, until something like Suicide Squad comes along and tops it like it did its record for R-Rated trailer.

But I will answer questions about the film. And I'll even answer questions about the script drafts. This is also a good time to ask me about my hints I gave 2 years ago and what I meant about them, etc. Just keep it civil But when I answer them I am not going to jump to conclusions but rather take my time to throughly research your answer the best that I can.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts833
Likes27 received
31 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/26/2021 07:44 PM EDT

This is not a deep question, but did you have fun watching it, and did you see it in a theater or HBO Max? I saw it in theaters and the crowd energy was off the charts so I walked out feeling pretty good about it. Then all the reviews started to make me second guess myself. I did have a fun experience watching it. I think the og is better. I give it a modest 7/10. It could be way better, but it had its moments.

Scott Howell - Co-founder
scott@mortalkombatonline.com

Mortal Kombat Online - The Ultimate Mortal Kombat Experience

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1203
Likes98 received
2 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/26/2021 08:16 PM EDT

If the studio does keep the green light on the sequel and we have high hopes of a Johnny Cage inspired like movie, who would you like to see play Johnny Cage and why? A lot of fans have thrown out names like Ryan Reynolds, Chris Pratt, Keanu Reeves to name a select few. Scott Adtkins and WWE's Mike Mizanin have expressed their interests too. The funniest one I heard was Van Damme. Who would you like and why?

2nd question revolves around Goro. If the 2nd film becomes the Tournament from the original game, with Goro now dead what do you suppose will now happen to his role in the story of the original Tournament which may become the sequel to this film?

717313=Rain Can Be Found In The Graveyard
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/26/2021 08:16 PM EDT
04/26/2021 08:19 PM EDT

Scott,

Great to hear from you!

First, I actually first watched it a camrip at home so I could more or less feel how similar it was to the 2018 script draft so I could mentally prepare for fan responses. But after that my first experience was a first showing at 1-ish in a theater. Only 6 people were there 2 couples and 2 individual guys. So I didn't get to experience the crowd energy. Did I have fun watching it? Yes I think it's a fun movie and it tries and encapsulates this new timeline well. I'm with you about the reviews but I also knew in advance this was a pre-tournament film and I think the negative reviews come from the fact WB never marketed the film as pre-tournament. In fact all the marketing and even the synopsis pointed to there being a tournament. The OG can't be beat for a various reasons: 1). There was no alternate timeline stuff they only had to contend to why all the original playables from MK1 return in MKII 2) The techno soundtrack was very upbeat and it stuck to us 3) The Internet wasn't as blossomed as it is today so leaks and opinions weren't as common as is today, and so on. 7/10 is fair and I agree it could have been better. I even think they could have pulled off the 2018 script 100% had they marketed the film as pre-tournament, i.e. "You've seen MK but you haven't seen how the 10th tournament got started," simple stuff like that.

@Scott-Howell

This is not a deep question, but did you have fun watching it, and did you see it in a theater or HBO Max? I saw it in theaters and the crowd energy was off the charts so I walked out feeling pretty good about it. Then all the reviews started to make me second guess myself. I did have a fun experience watching it. I think the og is better. I give it a modest 7/10. It could be way better, but it had its moments.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/26/2021 08:47 PM EDT

Good questions. I meant to say I won't give my opinions because at this point everyone's opinion is valid and speculative so nobody's opinion outweighs the other because we don't have any physical evidence of a sequel like I did with the leaked scripts.

However, I will answer your questions and my answers here are solely my opinion. My original choice would have been The Miz because he shares the same conceitedness as Cage. But then I thought more about it and realized it wouldn't work if it's true they want an A-Lister. He isn't A-List material and frankly him being associated with a PG-13 product like WWE wouldn't fly with the WWE. Scott Adkins is also not A-list material so he wouldn't work. The only palatable choice right now is Ryan Reynolds or Chris Pratt because they are A-Listers. I feel Ryan Reynolds has the better look for Johnny Cage and the better star power. But I am also unaware who their contracts are with and if they would even be allowed to work for Warner Bros. They are also both too old to go along with the Cassie Cage backstory.

As for Goro, WB has pinned themselves in a corner. Unless they explain Shang Tsung bringing back Goro without making him a zombie, they'd either be best to ignore he died in the first place and hope we accept that Shang can bring people back from the dead, somehow mix Quan Chi to this picture, or something cheesy like the real Goro comes in and says his brother was always jealous of him, blah blah and stood in for him and now he's here to defend his title, etc. No matter the route they go with this the fan base overall probably won't like it too much.

@trynax

If the studio does keep the green light on the sequel and we have high hopes of a Johnny Cage inspired like movie, who would you like to see play Johnny Cage and why? A lot of fans have thrown out names like Ryan Reynolds, Chris Pratt, Keanu Reeves to name a select few. Scott Adtkins and WWE's Mike Mizanin have expressed their interests too. The funniest one I heard was Van Damme. Who would you like and why?

2nd question revolves around Goro. If the 2nd film becomes the Tournament from the original game, with Goro now dead what do you suppose will now happen to his role in the story of the original Tournament which may become the sequel to this film?

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1203
Likes98 received
2 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/26/2021 10:52 PM EDT

Thank you for answering my first question. I took like the Ryan Reynolds choice but as you said and much like a lot of top actors contracts with studios and other things can get in the way. I cannot remember where the Van Damme thing was I read but I laughed because we know how old Van Damme is now, yet his real life now could sort of fit in with Cage. I guess everyone even after all of these long years are still pulling for Van Damme. LOL

717313=Rain Can Be Found In The Graveyard
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/27/2021 11:13 AM EDT

I should also add because I see people repeat alot of lines from the first film like " It has begun" and "A handful of people are gonna save the world".

The reason why there are many of us fanboys who like to hear tacky stuff like that repeated is because the 90s did it so well with remixing these quotes with remixes of Techno Syndrome. So hearing these lines to a beat made them more memorable to us.

Thankfully they retained a little of that spirit in the new 2021 remix but only adding generic game quotes and repeating the character name breakdown. Its not as popping as the 90s techno beats thats for sure.

@gorostilllives

This is not a deep question, but did you have fun watching it, and did you see it in a theater or HBO Max? I saw it in theaters and the crowd energy was off the charts so I walked out feeling pretty good about it. Then all the reviews started to make me second guess myself. I did have a fun experience watching it. I think the og is better. I give it a modest 7/10. It could be way better, but it had its moments.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1203
Likes98 received
2 given
RE: Q& A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/27/2021 01:23 PM EDT

When I saw the film I really didn't like the design of Reiko in the film. I guess I like seeing him with the face design he had in the games and from Konquest. I do wish Nathan Jones would have been Kahn but can't beat that dead but back to the main topic. Reiko's design as I mentioned in the film I didn't really like seeing. Mileena's was another one that really to me was a bad decision as well. Those two really were ones I didn't like from how the makers decided to do with the character designs. Did you dislike any of the costumes, makeup or designs of any of the characters of how they appeared in the film? What I mean is were there any while watching it you looked at the design and said to yourself they could have been done differently. What were you favorite ones?

My favorite would be Reptile so far. They made Reptile's design work very well for the film. My daughter watched it and she liked Nitara's design. My wife was a Kano fan and like Lawson's performance but she liked the eye piece he had in the game.

717313=Rain Can Be Found In The Graveyard
User Icon
  • BahamasBahamas
Rank
Posts3114
Likes185 received
7 given
RE: Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/27/2021 07:36 PM EDT
04/28/2021 05:29 AM EDT

Did Kano make you "roflmao" in this film?

I honestly think Kano was one of the MVPs next to Sub-Zero. He had me dying of laughter.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
RE: Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/28/2021 12:14 AM EDT

Here are my favorite costumes and least favorite. I list these as such based on their similarity to the games. I have a couple that are middle ground as well. Not in any order.

Best:

  • Kung Lao
  • Kabal
  • Jax
  • Sub-Zero
  • Goro

OK:

  • Liu Kang (because he has several but also looks like Ryu in one of them)
  • Mileena
  • Sonya Blade
  • Nitara
  • Raiden
  • Kano

No:

  • Cole Young
  • Scorpion
  • Shang Tsung
  • Reiko
  • Reptile (although he is a beautifully well-done creature, he should have also transformed into a ninja)
@trynax

Did you dislike any of the costumes, makeup or designs of any of the characters of how they appeared in the film? What I mean is were there any while watching it you looked at the design and said to yourself they could have been done differently.

What were you favorite ones?

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts566
Likes99 received
65 given
RE: Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/28/2021 03:21 AM EDT

What do you think was the biggest mistake that the studio made? Personally, I think they committed practical blasphemy by giving Sonya and Kano (who was written like he was originally supposed to have been Johnny Cage, especially with all the pop culture references and comedic role) a relationship that was almost friendly, like Kano hasn't been her nemesis since the first game.

The dragon insignia "birthmarks" that linked the characters to the tournament are a distant second. That was cheesy and unnecessary. Because he wasn't actively guiding characters through the tournament and his role was reduced as a result of the existence of the birthmarks, Raiden seemed like a completely useless character outside of whispering through dialogue and making the odd appearance (with that shitty "lightning" effect on his eyes) just to remind everyone that the writers didn't forget to shoehorn him into the script. At one point, I completely forgot that he was a character, and then he popped in to disrupt Shang Tsung during some forgettable scene.

There's a storyline that exists in the source material, being the games. They could have kept the core plot, introduced their generic, uninteresting hero character, and made subtle changes here and there. Where I feel they made their biggest mistakes was with taking so many liberties with the story and character relationships, with casting being a close second. Kano seemed to have been thrown in as a last-minute replacement for Johnny Cage because they couldn't find a suitable actor for the role (and for the love of God, I hope they don't cast the Miz; the guy is not an actor to any respectable degree). I could go on for days about the Kano/Sonya relationship.

I gave the movie a 5/10, which I consider generous given the lack of respect that they showed to the source material. I could beat this movie to pieces in a brutally honest, ego-blistering review. But, being a parent, I don't have the time these days. So, I'll take part in things like this for the time being.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1203
Likes98 received
2 given
RE: Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/28/2021 10:32 AM EDT

LOL at the reference to Reptile as a ninja. I like that pun. My daughter kind of liked Reptile and Nitara.

As I mentioned I didn't like the film but there are small things here and there I did think they did a nice nod to the series in one way shape or form. As you mentioned Sub-Zero's costume. It resembles the MK11 DLC we got for Kuai Liang not too long ago. The only thing I though looked funny on Goro was his face. Other than that he looked pretty decent.

717313=Rain Can Be Found In The Graveyard
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
RE: Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/28/2021 12:02 PM EDT
04/28/2021 12:09 PM EDT

Honestly, I think the biggest mistake they made about this film was to depart from the 2018 script draft and rehash the Scorpion/Sub-Zero prologue. I'd been fine if they had just added that scene instead of replacing the original opening but instead they removed the original opening, which focused more on how Mortal Kombat came about. I felt the 2018 script had a lot of good merits and in order to make it work all they needed to do was face, dead-on, the fact this was a pre-tournament, pre-MK1 film and then market it as such. Catering to fans helped in the long-run in terms of getting asses in the seats and tickets sold but it the movie wasn't really about Scorpion and Sub-Zero's rivalry so much as it was Sub-Zero hunting down not only Scorpion's bloodline but the rest of the MK champions as well. Are we going to get another piece of media rehashing the beginnings of Scorpion/Sub-Zero? Will we ever get media again that actually doesn't repeat itself and can be linear? I mean, Annihilation's not well-loved by many people, but it least kept the continuation and didn't have to rehash the rivalry. Scorpion's Revenge already done that and now this movie did. Now this movie is falsely marketing itself because, as I said, you technically only get one actual scene with Scorpion as Scorpion and that's his fight with Sub-Zero.

As for the Sonya/Kano relationship, it doesn't make sense. The original lore Sonya is after Kano because he killed her partner. They actually did put that in the movie but didn't specify that the guy who's throat Kano slit was actually her partner, we have to think about it for a minute (for teh record, Kano kills her partner in the movie also by slitting his throat "eat to ear" as he told her right before their fight). I figured she'd want to kill him not kidnap him.

@VenoMark

What do you think was the biggest mistake that the studio made? Personally, I think they committed practical blasphemy by giving Sonya and Kano (who was written like he was originally supposed to have been Johnny Cage, especially with all the pop culture references and comedic role) a relationship that was almost friendly, like Kano hasn't been her nemesis since the first game.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts1637
Likes198 received
109 given
RE: Q & A with GoroStillLives over Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
04/28/2021 12:04 PM EDT

For some reason they gave him an overbite where the bottom of his jaw protrudes further than his upper mouth.

@trynax

LOL at the reference to Reptile as a ninja. I like that pun. My daughter kind of liked Reptile and Nitara.

As I mentioned I didn't like the film but there are small things here and there I did think they did a nice nod to the series in one way shape or form. As you mentioned Sub-Zero's costume. It resembles the MK11 DLC we got for Kuai Liang not too long ago. The only thing I though looked funny on Goro was his face. Other than that he looked pretty decent.

  • Page:
  • 1
Sunday School
05/09/2021 08:00 PM EDT
Fatal Friday
05/14/2021 08:00 PM EDT
User Poll
Round 1: FIGHT!
50.0%
Nitara
50.0%
Kung Lao