My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:38 AM EDT
(Changed the title as there seems to be some misunderstanding about what this thread is about.)

FINALLY!!!

We finally got to see Jade in action, some very nice in-game footage of her tag-teaming with Kitana against Sindel and Mileena which you can see on Youtube HERE!

I've gone through the video again and again, taken a few screenshots and now I will go through Jade's gameplay and tell you a bit about it. I hope you will enjoy the reading and feel free to add to the discussion.

Sadly, we see no intro from Jade this time, as it is Kitana and Sindel who starts the battle, but Jade comes into the arena a few times and even finishes the video with her X-Ray move. So let's start out taking a look at the special moves we see from Jade.


Dodging Shadows



Jade's projectile invulnerability special move, the Dodging Shadows, is back and it is quite simple in it's execution. Jade simply starts to flash a green glow for a few moments which will make the projectile fly right through her without doing any damage, just like you can see in the screenshot above. She will be able to move about while the Dodging Shadows is in use, so do not be fooled with her blocking on the screenshot. Actually, I have no idea why Jade is blocking there since it is quite unnecessary... but anyways, moving on.


Blazing Nitro Kick



Jade's Blazing Nitro Kick is back again, where she spins around in a forward-dashing roundhouse kick, acting somewhat like Johnny Cage's Shadow Kick like always, but instead of completely copying the animation they've given Jade a unique animation to this move. It's fast and can be used in the mid of a combo which is shown the first time she uses it. She uses it again later on as a juggle move on Mileena.




Razor-Rang

Sadly we don't get to see Jade use her Razor-Rang as a stand alone special move, however, she does attempt to use it against Sindel, but is prevented with a projectile move hitting her. However, she uses it as a tag-attack where she enters the arena, hurls it at the opponent, and while running out of the arena again, the Razor-Rang returns to her which means it is able to hit the opponent twice! Look at the screenshots below.





If the Razor-Rang is able to return as a special move has yet to be seen.


Vanishing Winds

There are no signs on Jade having her teleportation move, the Vanishing Winds, however, I hope she does have it and that it can be utilized like Kitana used it in Mortal Kombat VS DC Universe where she was able to do an axe-kick when appearing behind the opponent. But as said, it is not shown in the video.


Those were the special moves Jade is shown using in the video, but there are still alot of good stuff to see there. She does a few combos, a quick one-two jab before using the Blazing Nitro Kick, a sweep kick and an uppercut, but nothing too exciting. However, there was one move that I particularly noticed.



I am not sure if this is a special move or if it is just a normal pop-up move, however, what Jade does is that she swings her staff vertically upwards in some sort of jumping uppercut, hitting the opponent airborne and it looks like it's also an excellent anti-air move. Very nice indeed.




Jade's throw is also seen in the video and what she does is that she extends her staff, hitting the opponent in the stomach and then hurls them over her head and to the ground on the other side. I am not entirely sure if this is a normal throw or some sort of special throw, because unlike other characters, we don't see her grab the opponent first and then throw the opponent. No, instead she extends her staff and when it hits THAT's when she throws the opponent. If it is indeed a special kind of throw, then we have yet to see her normal throws.




The video finishes with Jade doing her X-Ray move on Mileena, however, we don't get to see how it ends as the video fades out while it is performed. But anyways, the X-Ray move starts out with Jade moving forward, attempting to grab the opponent...



If it connects, she pushes the opponent behind her, extends her staff and smashes it up in between the opponent's legs and crushes the pelvis...



Afterwards, she pulls the staff back and then smashes the tip of it into the back of the opponent, crushing the opponent's spine.



And as said, what happens afterward is unknown as the video fades out during the last crushing blow.

One last thing I like to tell you is Jade tagging out. She seems to crouch to the side, extend her staff and jumps backwards, out of the screen.



Awesome...

As a final note I'd like to say... YAY!!!
Finally some nice Jade gameplay footage of Jade and I couldn't be happier with what I see. Kitana's hair is all over the place as usual, and though Jade's hair seems to fly around as well, it does look alot more natural than Kitana's. Sindel's hair doesn't even fly around as much as Kitana's, so at least NRS got control over that. Hopefully Kitana's hair won't be so light-weighted and anti-gravital when the game releases.

To those who haven't seen it yet, I will post Jade's bio and ending below, but in respect of those who dislike spoilers, I will put it in a spoiler tag.

Spoilers: (Highlight to reveal)

Bio:
An assassin for Shao Kahn, Jade has earned a reputation as an agile and stealthy warrior. Her family was Edenian nobility and served the emperor once he conquered their realm, giving Jade to him as tribute when she was a child. After years of rigorous training in the art of kombat, Shao Kahn awarded her the position of Bodyguard to Princess Kitana. Over the centuries she and Kitana have become close friends, which makes Jade's secret orders from Shao Kahn painful to accept: Should Kitana's loyalty falter, Jade must kill her friend.

Ending:
Shao Kahn was defeated, but the intense battle rendered Jade unconscious.

She slipped into a dream-like state and found herself walking in an unknown realm. As she explored, her surroundings shifted and changed. Jade approached a lone figure who stood in the distance--a shimmering woman. She did not reveal her name, but spoke with an air of regal authority. Through the minds of countless mortals, the woman had been watching events as they unfolded over the centuries. She informed Jade that Shao Kahn's death was an outcome that must be re-imagined. Jade was defenseless as the woman possessed her body and emerged in the waking world.


See you online. ;)

Dragon PointDragon PointDragon PointDragon PointDragon PointHalf a Dragon Point2.0
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts37
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:44 AM EDT
I would let Jade eat my lunch any day. Any fucking goddamn day.
User Icon
  • IrelandIreland
Rank
Posts7063
Likes14 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:45 AM EDT
You're like the Jade version of queve! Good post! I'm loving what I'm seeing from Jade in this game, she looks great.
User Icon
  • ItalyItaly
Rank
Posts795
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:51 AM EDT
nice post, she looks like my favorite female kharacter next to sonja :)
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts2590
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:52 AM EDT
Great post! I, for once, might use Jade this time. She looks fast and furious.

On a side note, did anyone else notice it looked like she was still fighting in the Kuo Shou style? The one she used to have in Deception...
User Icon
  • BelgiumBelgium
Rank
Posts1011
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:53 AM EDT
FreelanceCombo Wrote:
I would eat Jade out any day. Any fucking goddamn day.


There, I fixed it for you. smile
User Icon
  • United KingdomUnited Kingdom
Rank
Posts417
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 10:54 AM EDT
Great analysis, your respect for this character really shows.
Jade is quickly becoming a favourite of mine and I can't wait to play as her. Jade as had been given the best outfit of the ninjettes and like I said in the other thread her gameplay looks fast, brutal and classic. Really hope she retains the Vanashing Winds teleport and so glad NRS made the Nitro Kick look like her own move rather than a copy-paste of Cage's.
Sig by Unknown265
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts37
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:08 AM EDT
Siroj Wrote:
FreelanceCombo Wrote:
I would eat Jade out any day. Any fucking goddamn day.


There, I fixed it for you. smile


You're right about that. I'd still eat her puss even if she had green glowing goo oozing out of her meat wallet. I'd surgically attach my face to that infected hatchet wound "Human Centipede" style and thank God every day for it.
User Icon
  • United KingdomUnited Kingdom
Rank
Posts417
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:09 AM EDT
FreelanceCombo Wrote:
Siroj Wrote:
FreelanceCombo Wrote:
I would eat Jade out any day. Any fucking goddamn day.


There, I fixed it for you. smile


You're right about that. I'd still eat her puss even if she had green glowing goo oozing out of her meat wallet. I'd surgically attach my face to that infected hatchet wound "Human Centipede" style and thank God every day for it.


You know alot of other names for vagina...
Sig by Unknown265
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:09 AM EDT
Please guys, stay on topic instead of such comments. Thank you.
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts714
Likes1 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:11 AM EDT
Great analysis Jaded-Raven! I LOVE LOVE LOVE everything that they've done with her in this game.

She looks brilliant and I can't wait to wreck everyone with her. Her gameplay is fast and furious, but I wonder if her projectile comes out fast? She has to reach behind her and pull it out first which seems to have a bit of a slow startup.

Did anyone else notice that before she jumps or before she does a certain attack, she makes a WOOP sound. It's kinda cute.
User Icon
Rank
Posts2403
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:26 AM EDT
I'm going to be blunt.

This thread is terrible. This is not what a proper gameplay analysis is.

You are making visual assumptions that have nothing to do with how Jade actually manages to play in the game, missing crucial details that can only be known by controlling the character such as damage properties, combos, frame data, etc.

Your post is akin to a list of special moves with assumptions on how they may or may not work in practice. While it's clear you like Jade, this would be better suited to a speculation thread on the main 2011 board and not one claiming to be a gameplay analysis. As a matter of fact, if I didn't know better, it almost seems like it was originally over there...
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:31 AM EDT
Wanderer Wrote:
I'm going to be blunt.

This thread is terrible. This is not what a proper gameplay analysis is.

You are making visual assumptions that have nothing to do with how Jade actually manages to play in the game, missing crucial details that can only be known by controlling the character such as damage properties, combos, frame data, etc.

Your post is akin to a list of special moves with assumptions on how they may or may not work in practice. While it's clear you like Jade, this would be better suited to a speculation thread on the main 2011 board and not one claiming to be a gameplay analysis. As a matter of fact, if I didn't know better, it almost seems like it was originally over there...


Thanks for your kind words. /sarcasm
;)

It WAS originally on the MK(2011) forum, but for some reason it was put here. I did not intend this to be in this forum as it has nothing to do with strategy or whatever, just an analysis on Jade's gameplay shown in the video, what moves she uses and such.

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts37
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:38 AM EDT
Wanderer Wrote:
I'm going to be blunt.

This thread is terrible. This is not what a proper gameplay analysis is.

You are making visual assumptions that have nothing to do with how Jade actually manages to play in the game, missing crucial details that can only be known by controlling the character such as damage properties, combos, frame data, etc.

Your post is akin to a list of special moves with assumptions on how they may or may not work in practice. While it's clear you like Jade, this would be better suited to a speculation thread on the main 2011 board and not one claiming to be a gameplay analysis. As a matter of fact, if I didn't know better, it almost seems like it was originally over there...


Yeah, you're kind of a huge dick. Instead of being a huge dick, try having a huge dick and then fuck my ass two ways from sunday.
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:39 AM EDT
@ FreelanceCombo:

Stop that... Seriously. It's not even funny.
User Icon
  • EgyptEgypt
Rank
Posts326
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:50 AM EDT
about time a freakin' Jade and Sindel gameplay's out! I'm really loving Jade's gameplay her projectile looks awesome and the X-ray just WOW!! and the dodging shadows is my jam here!! can't wait to spam it online grin
User Icon
Rank
Posts2403
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:51 AM EDT
Jaded-Raven Wrote:
Thanks for your kind words. /sarcasm
;)

It WAS originally on the MK(2011) forum, but for some reason it was put here. I did not intend this to be in this forum as it has nothing to do with strategy or whatever, just an analysis on Jade's gameplay shown in the video, what moves she uses and such.


Well, since your thread is now here, I guess you can also claim first dibs on having an official Jade thread for when MK9 is released and this can be turned into a Jade competitive thread. I'll come back later with some UMK3 Jade stuff and speculate on possible similarities, since it'd be a shame if your work went to waste only to be stuck in the Strategy Dead Zone, populated by tumbleweeds and the occasional passerby.

FreelanceCombo Wrote:
Yeah, you're kind of a huge dick. Instead of being a huge dick, try having a huge dick and then fuck my ass two ways from sunday.


What.
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 11:55 AM EDT
Well, if people want to turn the thread into such... Then sure. ^^
I'm not that big of a competetive player and then such "analysis" isn't really my strong side. However, if there's anyone out there who is, then feel free to post here.
User Icon
Rank
Posts109
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 12:33 PM EDT
I see you get really offended when someone does not agree with you (your thread ). But it's ok for you to Troll when an Xbox thread come up. I won't waste any more words.

On topic: I think it's a good thread and never was a jade fan but this vid changed me. And at we got pics so im happy :P
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: Jades gameplay analysis *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 12:36 PM EDT
Lopata991 Wrote:
I see you get really offended when someone does not agree with you (your thread ). But it's ok for you to Troll when an Xbox thread come up. I won't waste any more words.

On topic: I think it's a good thread and never was a jade fan but this vid changed me. And at we got pics so im happy :P


Wait what?
People can think of my thread whatever they want. If you mean my sarcastic remark at Wanderer, then that was just what it is... a sarcastic remark.

I think you take it just a bit too seriously. ;)
User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts2174
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 01:09 PM EDT
She also seems to have a new "Blazing Nitro Slide" as shown in the European "Kombat Kontinues" trailer. I too hope she has her teleport. They may be common now, but none of the girls have a *real* teleport (not counting Mileena's), so it would be nice to have at least one.
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 01:29 PM EDT
drpvfx Wrote:
She also seems to have a new "Blazing Nitro Slide" as shown in the European "Kombat Kontinues" trailer. I too hope she has her teleport. They may be common now, but none of the girls have a *real* teleport (not counting Mileena's), so it would be nice to have at least one.


That would be her Blazing Nitro Kick, but with a new animation. ^^
User Icon
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich IslandsSouth Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Rank
Posts1461
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 01:54 PM EDT
I really don't understand why this is in strategy zone. I wouldn't have even seen it but for JR's link in the video thread.

Anyway, I love everything about Jade in this game. Which is strange for me, I know. Her hair is a little wonky, like everyone's, but not nearly as bad as Kitanas. I'm so glad she's got dodging shadows. I hope the input for it is FF or even DF instead of BF like in deception. It will make it much more useful as a combo starter. I also hope her razor rang is more useful than Deceptions, because there the wind up was so damn slow it never hit anybody.

I'm guessing her leaping uppercut is probably her B+2 attack, or maybe U+4 like Mileena's jump splits.

I wish her x-ray did actually show the pelvis breaking, because just showing the muscle layer doesn't really convey what's being damaged at all. And of course they can't show genitals being crushed and still have an M rating, so something should be changed. Maybe if they at least showed the muscles being bruised or torn or anything other than just displaying them. Cage's x-ray needs the same treatment. Glad she uses the staff for it though. I wonder what the third hit of her x-ray is. Or maybe she just has 2.

Also wish they'd have given her something a little more original than a shadow kick. Something that utilized her staff, or a shadow knee or elbow or anything other than just a straight up clone of Cage's shadow kick. I mean, the glow is even the same! It's not bad I guess, but it's pretty unimaginative if you ask me.

I love her look though. Her outfit really shows off her assets. wink
User Icon
  • DenmarkDenmark
Rank
Posts12694
Likes3 received
0 given
RE: My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 04:28 PM EDT
unseenwombat Wrote:
I really don't understand why this is in strategy zone. I wouldn't have even seen it but for JR's link in the video thread.

Anyway, I love everything about Jade in this game. Which is strange for me, I know. Her hair is a little wonky, like everyone's, but not nearly as bad as Kitanas. I'm so glad she's got dodging shadows. I hope the input for it is FF or even DF instead of BF like in deception. It will make it much more useful as a combo starter. I also hope her razor rang is more useful than Deceptions, because there the wind up was so damn slow it never hit anybody.

I'm guessing her leaping uppercut is probably her B+2 attack, or maybe U+4 like Mileena's jump splits.

I wish her x-ray did actually show the pelvis breaking, because just showing the muscle layer doesn't really convey what's being damaged at all. And of course they can't show genitals being crushed and still have an M rating, so something should be changed. Maybe if they at least showed the muscles being bruised or torn or anything other than just displaying them. Cage's x-ray needs the same treatment. Glad she uses the staff for it though. I wonder what the third hit of her x-ray is. Or maybe she just has 2.

Also wish they'd have given her something a little more original than a shadow kick. Something that utilized her staff, or a shadow knee or elbow or anything other than just a straight up clone of Cage's shadow kick. I mean, the glow is even the same! It's not bad I guess, but it's pretty unimaginative if you ask me.

I love her look though. Her outfit really shows off her assets. wink


Nice to read a positive post from you, and in my thread none-the-less. ^^

I agree, it would have been alot cooler if they had shown the pelvis getting hurt in some way instead of just showing us the meat. The bones breaking would have looked alot more hurtful.

I don't mind that Jade's Blazing Nitro Kick is still a kick like Cage's Shadow Kick, because they changed the animation so they didn't look 100% alike. Where Cage does a forward dash kick, Jade does a roundhouse instead. It's not a huge difference, but it's enough in my opinion.

If it should be replaced with something else, well, then I already got an idea to what that would be:

User Icon
  • United States of AmericaUnited States of America
Rank
Posts2174
Likes0 received
0 given
RE: My opinion about Jades gameplay *Warning: Long post!*
03/31/2011 05:21 PM EDT
Jaded-Raven Wrote:
drpvfx Wrote:
She also seems to have a new "Blazing Nitro Slide" as shown in the European "Kombat Kontinues" trailer. I too hope she has her teleport. They may be common now, but none of the girls have a *real* teleport (not counting Mileena's), so it would be nice to have at least one.


That would be her Blazing Nitro Kick, but with a new animation. ^^


Are you sure?
If you watch this video, during the King of the Hill portion, at 1:06 she starts to do something that looks like a low attack, but Noob interrupts it. She does the regular Nitro Kick just before this, and the animation seems different. It could be the EX, or just a normal move, though. Also just noticed she doesn't glow green for the one I'm talking about, so it seems unrelated.
Fatal Friday
05/14/2021 08:00 PM EDT
Sunday School
05/16/2021 08:00 PM EDT
User Poll
Round 1: FIGHT!
61.1%
Scorpion
38.9%
Quan Chi