Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
  • Page:
  • 1
  • United States of America
Rank Kombatant
Posts930
Likes62 received
40 given
Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/22/2019 08:04 PM EST

Earlier today when updating my site for the reboot, which is unfortunately on embargo until October 2020 to March 6, 2021, depends on me really, I ran across some of the archive news about Australian being "chosen" for the reboot. But reading another one I noticed James Wan saying he was happy it was going to be in Australia because... he had so much success filming Aquaman there.

What's the point?

Cut out all the politics and crap Australia's Prime Minister Steve Marshall has said (Australia has already been used in major films for decades) and you'll get to the root of it all...

James Wan IS the driving force behind this film AND it being in Australia.

That's my opinion but moreso based on facts.

Now I am also seeing lots of fans bitching over the Internet how there are no famous names (you mean A-list talent by the way) and how this film will FAIL because of that.

If I may take a second to ROFLMAO!

Really? I mean, c'mon. Do you always think A-list talent means the movie will be awesome? have you never heard of "Burn, Hollywood, Burn" or "Mother Goose Rock N Rhyme"?

Let's recap some of the popular movies and shows our cast and crew have been in:

Sisi Stringer - Ok you got me here. She is pretty new. Moving on...

Max Huang - He did stunts on that Kingsman movie, ok got me again...

Chin Han - Skyscraper, Dark Knight, Ghost in the Shell, 2012, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Independence Day: Resurgence

Ludi Lin - Aquaman (*cough James Wan *cough), and he was the Black Ranger in the Power Rangers reboot, really?

Tadanobu Asano - Battleship, and a couple Thor movies, 47 Ronin

Jessica McNamee (she was cheap being in Australia) - (this one pisses me off but know I know why she was selected) - The Meg, The Vow, Battle of the Sexes, Chips.

Hiroyuki Sanada - Avengers: Endgame (never heard of it), Minions, 47 Ronin (another one), The Wolverine, Rush Hour 3,

Joe Taslim - Furious 6, The Raid, Star Trek Beyond

Josh Lawson - Anchorman 2 and also cheap for being in Australia

Mehcad Brooks - Desperate Housewives, Supergirl, True Blood, and more.

Lewis Tan - Wu Assassins, Rush Hour series, Deadpool 2

So, I mean, a LOT of these guys have been in BIG Marvel movies... sure they may not be A-Listers yet but they have nothing to lose by being in this movie.

Even if this movie were to fail, it wouldn't harm their already teeter-toter careers.

And after Aquaman's success, not to mention The Conjuring universe films, James Wan has the $$ to waste.

So before you jump to konclusions and say this film will fail, even if the core Mk fans don't like it, the rest of the world will. And that who James Wan cares the most about. He has people who'll eat his shit, puke it back out and eat it again because, hey, he's James-fucking-Wan.

  • Italy
Rank Student
Posts2472
Likes141 received
0 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 01:47 PM EST
09/24/2019 01:50 PM EST

woah, woah, slow down mate.

i really appreciate your enthusiasm about the movie (and the franchise) and I don't doubt you are some kind of insider with reliable sources, but you're mixing up facts with big, fat ass opinions.

Let's start with the production: Australia is a."meh" choice at best. It may be cheap and safe to work in kangaroo-land, safer than China and Hong Kong and Thailand for sure, but one of the key aspects of the MK lore is its eastern roots, aesthetic and mythology. Australia, at least in exteriors, doesn't add up to that one bit, unless they are to use their already low budget to build asian exteriors from the ground up.

Also, Wan may be a talented director, don't doubt that, but he is simply a producer for this movie. No director of Earthrealm loves to waste money. If he is financing the movie it's because he believes that, most likely, he will get back what he spent and something more.

The director only directed commercials in his career. A good director is the brain of a movie. Experience for sure helps directors at being good.

In 1995 Paul Anderson already had a couple of important films under his belt, if I am not mistaken.

Secondly, the cast. Cristopher Lambert was a major box office bait that helped the first movie to be succesful as it was. No one is asking for Hollywood's A-listers like Leo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Brad Pitt, Scarlett Johansson, etc and not even some B-listers (RD Jr, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth).

But you need at least one, single hollywood bait. I have no idea of who might accept any role in this film, but I am no James Wan or casting director either, so it's not my job.

The avtors' list you posted above, while technically correct, it is not "honest". Everyone of them who appeared on Marvel movies did it for a cameo. Lewis Tan in Deadpool 2 was a two scenes.joke, one of those involving his death.

The other asian guy was a Yakuza boss killed in less than a minute in Avengers Endgame.

None of the people you mentioned has ever starred in a.major role in a major hollywood movie. Even Mechad Brooks, who is the most recognizable of the cast, only appeared in supporting roles in so-so TV shows (Supergirl, True Blood).

Many of those actors accepted the role because this movie may be their breakthrough into Hollywood mainstains.

Basically, MK Legacy had a better cast with Carey Tagawa, Casper Van Dien, Brian Tee, Mark Dacascos and Michael Jay White. And it was a Machinima show released for free...

About the last sentence in the spoiler tag...That's your opinion, but without the support and the word of mouth of the most supportive MK fans, this movie is deemed to fail, with or without James Wan.

The simple fact that they haven't announced a Johnny Cage cast and haven't fully debunked the sad Cole Turner rumor, is indicative of how low quality and direction-less this movie is. Hope to be wrong, though.

  • United States of America
Rank Kombatant
Posts930
Likes62 received
40 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 02:50 PM EST

What part of "reboot" have you missed? Keep an open mind. You will be bedazzled and amazed.

"Asian roots" doesn't always have to mean the buildings with rounded roofs. There is a wildernous in Asia. Recall Plate techtonics. Australia has ALOT of the same vegetation as Asia. Reason for that.

Boon lost the core MK fanatics long ago. It's a new era, a new generation of MK fans, specifically with DC. There are more of them than us. We will had to embrace or lose grace. Us vs them. You're either with us in this or stuck in the 70s-90s with them. The days of Mortal Kombat being a ripoff of Enter the Dragon (Roger & Ebert stated this in 1995) are long gone... at least for this film.

Responding to both your statement in why Wan chose this project and this: "That's your opinion, but without the support and the word of mouth of the most supportive MK fans, this movie is deemed to fail, with or without James Wan.":

In the film business... if a movie gets more $$ back than what was put into it... that's called a commercial success. So again... HE DOESN'T NEED WORD OF MOUTH FROM THE MOST LOYAL FANS. WELCOME TO HOLLYWOOD MATE - JAMES WAN > WORD OF MOUTH

Here in the states, Christopher Lambert was a nobody. Famous for Highlander ONLY IF you were a scifi/fantasy fan. Still is a nobody here unless you're a MK fan. Bridgette Wilson was well-known from both Adam Sandler (still one of Hollywood's biggest paid actors) and as Schwarzenegger's kickass daughter in Last Action Hero. Shitty film but people will eat Arnold Schwarzenegger's shit too no matter what he was in, back then anyway.

James Wan IS the biggest name attached. There is always room for cameos by big names if they must.

Cary Tagawa and the rest of Legacy's cast were popular but waxhed up in their own rights. I forgot all about Casper Van Dien since Startroopers. I watched Tagawa in alot of B action martial arts films in the 90s. Micheal J. White is only known to martial arts movie fans and he was too old to do Mortal Kombat right when he was in Legacy.

The only thing Legacy got right is it fueled the public's interest and ignited Warner Bros into making a Mortal Kombat film live action film. People keep talking how suckass it was except for fans newer to the MK franchise who didn't know what we knew.

And in response to your last sentence:

You are, in many ways, both right and wrong. You won't know until you see Mortal Kombat (2021) or Mortal Kombat (2023?)

Rank Student
Posts96
Likes10 received
3 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 04:54 PM EST

speaking of legacy yeah they made liu kang into a joke who not even a choses or how about when thy killed of kuail liang off or did you like making raiden trapped in the asylum the only good story arc was the kitana arc

  • Italy
Rank Student
Posts2472
Likes141 received
0 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 05:22 PM EST

What part of "reboot" have you missed? Keep an open mind. You will be bedazzled and amazed.

"Asian roots" doesn't always have to mean the buildings with rounded roofs. There is a wildernous in Asia. Recall Plate techtonics. Australia has ALOT of the same vegetation as Asia. Reason for that.

Boon lost the core MK fanatics long ago. It's a new era, a new generation of MK fans, specifically with DC. There are more of them than us. We will had to embrace or lose grace. Us vs them. You're either with us in this or stuck in the 70s-90s with them. The days of Mortal Kombat being a ripoff of Enter the Dragon (Roger & Ebert stated this in 1995) are long gone... at least for this film.

Responding to both your statement in why Wan chose this project and this: "That's your opinion, but without the support and the word of mouth of the most supportive MK fans, this movie is deemed to fail, with or without James Wan.":

In the film business... if a movie gets more $$ back than what was put into it... that's called a commercial success. So again... HE DOESN'T NEED WORD OF MOUTH FROM THE MOST LOYAL FANS. WELCOME TO HOLLYWOOD MATE - JAMES WAN > WORD OF MOUTH

Here in the states, Christopher Lambert was a nobody. Famous for Highlander ONLY IF you were a scifi/fantasy fan. Still is a nobody here unless you're a MK fan. Bridgette Wilson was well-known from both Adam Sandler (still one of Hollywood's biggest paid actors) and as Schwarzenegger's kickass daughter in Last Action Hero. Shitty film but people will eat Arnold Schwarzenegger's shit too no matter what he was in, back then anyway.

James Wan IS the biggest name attached. There is always room for cameos by big names if they must.

Cary Tagawa and the rest of Legacy's cast were popular but waxhed up in their own rights. I forgot all about Casper Van Dien since Startroopers. I watched Tagawa in alot of B action martial arts films in the 90s. Micheal J. White is only known to martial arts movie fans and he was too old to do Mortal Kombat right when he was in Legacy.

The only thing Legacy got right is it fueled the public's interest and ignited Warner Bros into making a Mortal Kombat film live action film. People keep talking how suckass it was except for fans newer to the MK franchise who didn't know what we knew.

And in response to your last sentence:

You are, in many ways, both right and wrong. You won't know until you see Mortal Kombat (2021) or Mortal Kombat (2023?)

Dunno why you're acting so PR like this, but I have to wake you up about something: EVERY (read it with Gary Oldman's voice in Leon the professional) movie needs word of mouth in order to be successful. No exceptions.

Even MCU movies need good PR, advertising, promotion and fans' word of mouth.

MK reboot now more than any time else needs good word of mouth from the fans, old and new alike, James Wan or not.

Also, let's be honest, Wan is a good director, but alone is not going to sell a movie, especially if he is producer.

How can I trust a movie to be good if the director never directed a full feature film, when one of the most popular and loved characters is not even casted and when rumors about unnecessary original characters are stirred up in the internet?

The 1995 worked. Don't fix it if ain't broken. Just add gore to it and find good actors with a decent resume and filmography.

Christopher Lambert in 1995 was a great name in, 1995. And Paul Anderson was a decent director.

No matter the time or the ideas, if a movie lacks direction, casting and promotion (the latter being too early I know), it is deemed to fail, 1995 or,2019, James Wan or not.

Rank Student
Posts96
Likes10 received
3 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 05:39 PM EST

Paul Anderson decent directer huh is this the same director huh is that same director that runied the re movie series by having his wife bigger roles then the game directors also the same director that ripped off RE with a orginal screenplay called the undead only changed some stuff to make it a RE movie

  • United States of America
Rank Kombatant
Posts930
Likes62 received
40 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 06:16 PM EST

Oh... not to mention Paul Anderson only had one movie under his name before Mortal Kombat - Shopping - a British film no one here in the states heard of.

Paul didn't have James Wan on his side. Larry Kasanoff but not James Wan.

If you knew anything about this business you'd know a director is second to a producer. In other words, Simon may be the director by title but trust me, all the other producers and Exec Producers have a say during production.

ANY. DAMN. TIME.

So, especially with Kasanoff and Wan always there with him or just a phone call away, nothing is going to go wrong.

Like you said... Wan wouldn't have taken this project if he hadn't intended to make his money back.

It's a film already based on an existing well-established and commercially successful franchise. If it pisses off some of the most vocal obsessed, fanatics, "supportive fans," as you call, who cares. Can't please everyone. Every die-hard fan wants it this way or that way.

Don't know where've you been sincd MK9 when things changed completely but with MKX and MK11 changing the game, Moryal Kombat is stronger than ever.

Anything's better than Legacy.

  • Italy
Rank Student
Posts2472
Likes141 received
0 given
RE: Konfronting Konflict: No "Famous Actors & James Wan IS the driving force behind this film being in Australia - It Cannot Fail [Opinion]
09/24/2019 11:29 PM EST

Paul Anderson decent directer huh is this the same director huh is that same director that runied the re movie series by having his wife bigger roles then the game directors also the same director that ripped off RE with a orginal screenplay called the undead only changed some stuff to make it a RE movie

He also made Event Horizon

  • Page:
  • 1